Home     Blog     Sitemap     About Us     Contact Us    Archives    Advertise with us   
Naga Peoples Front get absolute majority in Nagaland


Ruling Naga Peoples Front on Thursday won absolute majority in the 60-member Nagaland Assembly securing 31 seats.

Prominent among those who were re-elected were Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, who won the Northern Angami II seat for the sixth consecutive time by 12,671 votes, and will look to retain the post for the third straight time in the 12th Nagaland Assembly. He defeated Congress rival Kevise Sogotsu.

Speaker Kiyanilie Peseyie won Western Angami seat for the third time defeating his Congress rival Asu Keyho by 1,000 votes.

The NPF, which was the major partner in the Democratic Alliance of Nagaland, had fielded candidates in all the seats.

Polling was held in 59 of the 60 seats as the Congress candidate of Tuensang Sadar seat P. Chuba Chang died before the polling day on February 23.

The Congress, which contested in 57 seats, is trailing far behind winning in four and leading in just two seats, while the NCP has won in two seats and is leading in another two.

Among the Congress winners are Nagaland PCC chief S.I. Jamir from Dimapur II constituency where he drubbed his nearest independent rival Savi Liegise by 1,615 votes.

The JD(U), which contested in three seats, won one seat and independents in three. Independents were leading in three other seats.

The BJP, which entered the fray in 11 seats, got its maiden win in Tizit.

Of the two women candidates, Rakhila who was fielded from Tuensang Sadar II seat by the BJP was defeated by the NPF. The result of the other woman candidate Yangeria, who contested as an independent from Mokokchong town, is yet to be announced.

Sign up for breaking news

  Blog Of The Week
    India’s population in 2050: extreme projections demand extreme actions
By Ranjit Goswami, IMT, Nagpur
  Weekly Book Review

Rags to riches dream comes true
By Ashwin Shingadia

More Book Reviews